Montage

You’re An Individual, Just Like Everybody Else. (Working title)

Inspired by Richard Hamilton’s piece – Just what is it that makes today’s homes so different, so appealing? and prompted by my Visual Culture module at York St. John University, this is an attempt of my personal montage to represent modern life.

Stage 1:

I know, it doesn’t look much, but this is the base room i will be using to generate my montage. Sofa and window have been layered on via photoshop, where i will be compiling the whole image.

Stage 2:

Okay, so this is the second stage to the image, adding a table, a lamp and the very popular couple of Katy Perry and Russell Brand. The idea behind using Russell and Katy is the current rise in trend to be ‘the indie kid’ and Katy is all things pop.

Stage 3:

As you can tell with this stage i have moved the window, and put in a juke box and the stone roses poster, the juke box is showing the desire for all the retro at the moment as well as being a medium for popular culture. The Stone Roses poster is just implying the ‘indie’ stereotype.

I am not 100% on the third stage of the production, I think this may be taking the piece in another direction than I want. I would like to give the impression that ‘retro’ is cool, without the image becoming a picture from the seventies. It is still a work in progress, but I keep posting updates about the piece.

Leave a comment